Vechery Scholarship

Dr. Stan Gaede with Dottie Vechery

Thirteen Scholarships Awarded Annually

The Christian College Consortium provides 13 scholarship awards annually—one to each of the 13 member institutions—to assist seniors demonstrating need to complete their education, and to reward academic achievement, leadership and character.


Mr. and Mrs. Frederic Vechery shared the financial blessings God had given them to help relieve financial pressures faced by students, in particular seniors, who choose a private Christian liberal arts education.

Frederic Vechery, a man of great integrity, passed away October 30, 2004.  A CPA and inspector in the FBI under J. Edgar Hoover, Mr. Vechery invested in property in Maryland and Virginia.  He and Dorothy, his wife of 30 years, became acquainted with the Christian College Consortium when their grandson was a student at Asbury College (now Asbury University).  And so they created an endowed scholarship fund from which annual awards are provided to one student at each of the 13 Consortium member institutions.  2022-2023 awards total $8,500 per student. Until the end Mrs. Vechery, who died February 27, 2018, greatly relished the thank-you notes and photos of “her” scholarship recipients.

Selection of Recipients

Financial aid officers of Consortium schools oversee the selection process for their institution.  Materials are sent by the Consortium in the fall; selections are made in the spring for the following academic year.  The applicant and financial aid officer are notified of the final selection by the Christian College Consortium office.

Vechery Scholarship Recipients